I Am Not Dead (Yet)

I have been sick.

Sicker than sick.

As sick as sick can be.

I am still sick.

It’s been 13 days now.

I’ve had enough.

[cough, splutter]

At least I am no longer coughing up blood. That was not fun.

Tonsillitis. And the Flu. And a generalised infection.

I haven’t felt this sick since I had Glandular Fever (Mono). I was in hospital for two weeks. Mainly because I had Viral Meningitis as well, but I was sick for months that time.

I hate being sick. [grumble, grumble]

Thankyou to everyone who has missed me. It feels good to be missed.

This is me:

germ-cloud.jpg

This happened a lot when I was at my worst:

incoming-cat.jpg

Breathing made me cry. Don’t even talk about swallowing…

daggers.jpg

NOTHING helped (except the antibiotics). All these drugs are a ruse by the pharmaceutical companies to make a load of cash out of people’s suffering. Take note.

medications.jpg

I have done nothing but sleep and watch television and movies for 13 days. This is what my eyes look like now:

plasma-eyes.jpg

Here is a list of movies I have watched. Some I barely remember due to my state of semi-lucidity, but I’ve seen most of them before anyway. Some of them more than a few times:

Mildred Pierce

T.I.S.M – Incontinent In Ten Continents

T.I.S.M – TV Primer

American Psycho

Bad Timing

The Virgin Suicides

Harold and Maude

The Taste Of Others

Sunset Boulevard

Inside Deep Throat

True Romance

In Her Shoes

ENRON – The Smartest Guys In The Room

Puberty Blues

Stoned

Love My Way – Series One

Monster

The 40 Year Old Virgin

I *heart* Huckabees

Shampoo

Don’t Look Now

Withnail & I

Hi Fidelity

Swing Time

The Birds

Shaun of the Dead

Thank You For Smoking

 

 

 

I will write more when I am able.

 

 

The cats always get the last word:

bilbo-gimme.jpg

 

 

 

Song Of The Day – Tex Williams – Smoke! Smoke! Smoke That Cigarette

18 Comments

  1. brian said,

    July 5, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    I’m glad to see you’re not dead. You have indeed been missed. And I’m sorry your cat is so insensitive to your situation. My cat says “Get well soon Vanessa MIAOW”

  2. Vanessa said,

    July 5, 2007 at 3:52 pm

    Aww thanks Brian. I’m glad I’m not dead too. Your cat is sweet. I should have borrowed him. I’ll bet he wouldn’t jump on your chest and belly repeatedly if you were sick. I’ll bet he’d even make you a hot toddy and some chicken soup. That’s how sweet he is.

  3. July 5, 2007 at 4:56 pm

    […] Nile Virus Link to Article meningitis I Am Not Dead (Yet) » Posted at Vanessa is… on Thursday, July […]

  4. July 5, 2007 at 9:57 pm

    I knew something was up the other day when I came to your page to see what craziness Nessa was up to and saw nothing new until today. I am sorry you are not feeling well! Get to feelin’ better beautiful!

  5. Rodney Olsen said,

    July 5, 2007 at 10:39 pm

    I’ve been wondering why it’s been so quiet over here.

    Great pictures. :)

    Hope you’re feeling much, much better soon.

  6. californiablogging said,

    July 5, 2007 at 11:57 pm

    oh that sounds sooo painful! Hang in there!

  7. whypaisley said,

    July 6, 2007 at 1:28 am

    good heavens, dear vanessa,, good to see you are climbing out of it,, and at least feeling well enough to let us know you live… hope for full recovery soon…..

  8. Vanessa said,

    July 6, 2007 at 2:53 am

    AB – Thanks darlin’ :)

    Rod – I’m glad you appreciate the scrawls of my hand of death. I couldn’t speak, you see… and they do say that pictures paint a thousand words. ;)

    Jen – Oh, I’m on the mend. Incrementally. Your virtual care package helped no end… ;)

    Paisley – Thankyousoverymuchhh.. :D

  9. Stiletto said,

    July 6, 2007 at 3:55 am

    Get better, love, and don’t feel pressured to write entries or comment on anyone’s stuff! Look at it as time to yourself!

  10. Vanessa said,

    July 6, 2007 at 3:59 am

    Ah, thanks love. I’ve really had enough of lying around watching television… although my extreme lethargy doesn’t allow for much else. I’m trying to fit in as much commenting as I can today before I need to keel over…

    If I wasn’t so gaddamn sick, I’d have said it’s been a nice break….

  11. modobs said,

    July 6, 2007 at 8:37 am

    You have been missed, Vanessa. I hope you’re getting better. I went through the same kind of illness a few years ago and it wasn’t fun at all. Those pictures paint illustrate really well the pain :)

  12. Vanessa said,

    July 6, 2007 at 11:55 am

    Oh, thanks modobs. I do feel quite a lot better today. I daresay I might be back at work on Monday after 2 weeks off (not working was the best thing about it hehe).

  13. Stiletto said,

    July 6, 2007 at 2:05 pm

    I thought something was wrong with your colon…drats! Busted! I have to read that story sooner or later!

  14. Vanessa said,

    July 6, 2007 at 2:09 pm

    Hah!

    Nah, that was just a routine colonscopy. I have a strong family history of colon cancer. The drama of the colonoscopy and the days leading up to it deserved a blog…. Oh, yes it did….

  15. July 6, 2007 at 2:41 pm

    Vanessa, you’re letting a little something like rampant illness stop you from blogging? Wow. I thought you were made of sterner stuff. You’re from Down Under, right? You people are the backbone of the entire planet and you’re trying to convince me that you’re too sick to post a blog? Wow. Imagine if those guys on the Botany Bay had said, “You know, I’m too sick to form a community so that we can all exist. I think I’ll go have a lie down, instead.” Before you know it, you people would probably have been colonized by some lost Lithuanian explorer and you’d be wearing odd lederhosen right now and learning how to polka.

  16. Vanessa said,

    July 6, 2007 at 2:50 pm

    Geez Richard, you might want to brush up on your Australian history. Botany Bay was where Captain Cook landed on the HMS Endeavour. But you know, I’m not one to quibble. As fun as it is to say “quibble”. Actually, I’m impressed you could even utter the name “Botany Bay”, as misguided as it was.

    Phew. Just your mentioning polka has worn me out. Think I’ll go and have a lie down. I was going to post a blog…….

  17. July 6, 2007 at 3:38 pm

    Stop it! Stop it right now! You listen to me, young lady — you go and post that blog! I’ll not be responsible for yet another blog not being put up. The villagers already told me they’re going to storm the castle with torches, pitchforks, and even the occasional angry sheep if I’m the cause of your not posting again. Hey, wait a minute…I’ve been set up, haven’t I? You had no intention of posting and now I’ve given you a convenient excuse not to do so. (Brianna uses the same trick on me: “I was going to have great sex with you, but you went ahead and made fun of Martha Stewart, so I guess it’ll have to wait for another time.”) This is why the female of the species is so damned crafty. You know exactly how to push those buttons.

  18. Vanessa said,

    July 6, 2007 at 5:13 pm

    You called me young! Let me just sit on that for a moment………

    Alright. You frightened me sufficiently. Angry sheep and pitchforks is what did it.

    As for the feminine wiles….. no comment.
    :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

