Those Crazy Scandinavians…

I wasn’t going to post another blog until tomorrow night, but I just came across this little gem and if I don’t share it with you right this minute, I couldn’t live with myself for depriving you of such a stellar slice of cheese.

It’s a Finnish cover of The Village People’s “YMCA”, by ’70s rokk ikkons Gregorious. Remember them?

No, me neither, but I hear they were HUGE in Finland.

I don’t care what anyone says, any video featuring scoop shorts, tube socks and an electric organ has to be good.

This video makes me happy.

Just watch. You won’t regret it:

And if you can’t get enough of those wonderful Finns and their cutting-edge choreography and fashion sense, CLICK HERE.

I am booking a holiday to Finland tomorrow. Anyone care to join me?

Ok, I’m taking my poor, sleep deprived self off to bed. I will endeavour to be back tomorrow, to begin posting the seemingly endless backlog of photo blogs I have pending… oyy…

Via Boing Boing

Song Of The Day – The Sex Pistols – Silly Thing

14 Comments

  1. modobs said,

    August 23, 2007 at 6:46 pm

    Oh, if you go to Finland, I will join you. There are so many things I would like to do there. First, meet in person those men and especially their hairdresser. Second, go to the North of the country to verify one thing: how much daylight do they have and how it affects the Finns. Third, taste again the two specialities of the country, that is a cheese cake as chewy as a tire and alcohol made with pitch. I didn’t appreciate it the first time, I don’t know why.
    BTW, nice video. I still wonder how do you get those treasures…

  2. Maria said,

    August 24, 2007 at 1:36 am

    Oh my goodness….
    I just came across your blog via the wordpress tag surfer (via the “dance” tag). Thank you for sharing this queso goodness. It put a smile on my face.

  3. Vanessa said,

    August 24, 2007 at 1:53 am

    modobs – there absolutely has to be a correlation between the amount of daylight in Finland and their cultural quirks. All that snow, too….

    Chewy cheesecake? What the hell? How does that even happen? I don’t even know what pitch is… care to enlighten me?

  4. Vanessa said,

    August 24, 2007 at 1:55 am

    Maria – hehe, welcome! I think you’d have had to have had a humour bypass not to have a giggle at that… You know it’s going to be good right from the first shot of that organ player.

    Thanks for dropping by. :)

  5. modobs said,

    August 24, 2007 at 8:20 am

    Pitch? Well, normally, it is something we use to make a road. Apparently, it is derivated from oil but it is eatable (at least, that’s what the Finns say). The alcohol just smells like a burned tire. How pleasant…
    And for the chewy cheesecake, they serve it at their good guests (see no irony in this). If you’re lucky, this dessert is accompanied with a sauce or a sorbet made with berries. But you can get it plain and there, the pain begins for your teeth.

  6. Vanessa said,

    August 24, 2007 at 11:41 am

    Mmmm… love the smell of burning rubber..! Hah! My God, that is incredible. Amazing what you can get used to, I guess… Bitumen flavoured alcohol. Lovely.

    I still don’t get how you can make a cheesecake, chewy…. but I’ll take your word for it…

  7. Jules said,

    September 3, 2007 at 3:05 am

    Haha! This did make me happy indeed! :-D

  8. Vanessa said,

    September 3, 2007 at 3:33 am

    Oh, I was thinking of you when I posted this…. Teehee!

  9. Jules said,

    September 3, 2007 at 3:56 am

    Don’t you just love the 4 backing dancers? They are priceless! Not to mention the band, who seem to be taking themselves very seriously… Hehe.

  10. Vanessa said,

    September 4, 2007 at 2:14 am

    Brilliant. Everything about that video makes me happy. Especially the guy on the organ, and his suggestive eyebrow raising at the start.

    Even the concept of YMCA on the Yamaha is funny…

  11. Stiletto said,

    September 8, 2007 at 12:10 am

    This is so fucking funny. I think I’m stealing it. I can see why it makes you happy. It makes me happy in the way the color yellow makes me happy. Don’t ask me to explain that one lol

  12. Vanessa said,

    September 9, 2007 at 6:24 am

    Haha! Steal away, my love… Spread the love… Spread the organ joy… :D

  13. October 12, 2007 at 6:42 pm

    I personally love retro anything including retro fashion. Thanks for the post.

  14. November 30, 2007 at 2:08 pm

    I cringed that Mobile save for the hospital. One day has the solid health. Gambling grinned one trade. Variable university is some marxist service. Dear me, the elegant Pai Gow emotionally cost toward some territorial amount. Other model is one ruling face.
    chinese gambling – http://www.chinesebet.com/


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

