Vinyl Beauties – Part 1

I have an enormous collection of vinyl records.  I mean, too bloody big.  Around 900+ albums and God knows how many singles (45’s).  Could be around the same number.  I can’t play any of them because both my turntables are out of order, but I just can’t let go.  I’ve given away a few albums over the years and regretted it.  Still.  So, I lug them around from house to house…

I’ve been collecting records since I was a kid.  Pre-teen.  I was earning my own money from the age of 9, and what did I spend it on?  Yup.  You got it.

I was obsessed with music.  Not much has changed in that regard, except that I’m running out of space.   Records take up a LOT of space.  

I worked for a huge record company for a couple of years and had access to their entire back catalogue.  Holy Jeebus.  I went nuts.  They probably got the bill after I left, heh.   My CD collection is almost as large as my vinyl, or possibly larger.  I’ve never counted.

Part of the reason I hang onto records, is because I love the big covers.  There was nothing quite like lying on your bed, listening to your new purchase and examining the artwork and words in fine detail.  Ahhh… memories.  CD’s just aren’t the same…

Occasionally I still buy vinyl secondhand, if I see a cover I really like.  Covers were and are, that cool…

For some time now, I’ve been collecting pictures of joyous vinyl album covers I’ve come across online.  There are too many to post in one hit, so I’m starting a series:

aaabolero.jpg

I hate to say it, but she reminds me of me when I’ve had a few too many to drink.  Well, I don’t generally try to set my face on fire and I only smoke when I’m very sloshed, but she speaks to me.  Hah!  Almost makes you want to hear ‘Bolero’ again, eh?

alpert1966.jpg

Doesn’t everybody love Herb?  This album cover has been parodied numerous times, I believe most famously by Soul Asylum. They had the best covers in the 60’s….

cl-eddiemack.jpg

Well, isn’t Eddie a lucky guy?  Who would think there would be naked, piano crawling beauties at the Open Face Sandwich Club? 

g1shit.jpg

Someone I know saw this recently and said at first glance, “That’s hot!!”.  Umm.. ok.  Apparently women on the toilet turn him on…  Hey, what ever floats yer boat, I say.  I think Millie Jackson (is she related??)  is just feeling wholly satisfied for being back where the shit is.  By the look on her face, she’s been waiting a long time. 

richardandwillie.jpg

Well, what can you say except, WHAT THE FUCK??  At least he gives a warning for sensitive eyes, but not before you’ve seen the rest.  Not that I’m offended. I’m just trying to work out what the hell is going on here… Is there a point?

I’m sure someone has an explanation.  If not feasible, at least amusing…

I’ll just leave you with those for now.  Vinyl albums that most likely will never be released on CD and if they were available digitally, what would be the point?

Vinyl rules, ok.

More to come…..

 

Song Of The Day – James Brown – King Heroin

25 Comments

  1. Tommy said,

    April 14, 2007 at 2:38 am

    Eddie Mack is looking the wrong way. What was he thinking?

    VINYL RULES!

  2. Tommy said,

    April 14, 2007 at 2:39 am

    BTW I like the new theme.

  3. Vanessa said,

    April 14, 2007 at 2:44 am

    Yes it does! I knew you’d understand….

    You’ve got a point about Eddie Mack… Maybe it’s just a brief glance. That’s a fairly cheeky grin he has on his face there….

    Thanks. It’s slim pickings around here in term of themes. I had to dump the last one, which I liked, because the sidebar was so messed up.

  4. Tommy said,

    April 14, 2007 at 2:59 am

    When it comes to music, we are definitely on the same page.

    I’d keep this theme up for a while. I’m working on a custom theme for myself just to mix it up a bit.

  5. Vanessa said,

    April 14, 2007 at 3:05 am

    Oh, are you now? After hours of trying out a bunch of themes today and having untold problems uploading pictures and whatnot, I’m about ready to start learning CSS.

    However, I’m quite happy with his one for now….

    Music? But, of course. Maybe some other stuff too. Oh, I finally bit the bullet and wrote myself a short…. something. About me, is what it is. The whole thing just gives me the heebeejeebees… heh.

  6. Vanessa said,

    April 14, 2007 at 3:37 am

    Not such a people pleaser this blog, not that that is what I was aiming for, it’s just stuff I like…. but 12 hours and not a peep! I am from time to time having a little trouble adjusting to the silence…

    I wonder what it is. I might post this on myspace in a day or two and see what kind of reaction it gets there, just to see if I really do only like things that nobody else likes… apart from you, Tommy…. and I love that you do.

    Where’s Jules when I need her! hehehe. She’d get it.

  7. Jules said,

    April 14, 2007 at 6:05 am

    I’m a people and I’m pleased! Hehe.

  8. Jules said,

    April 14, 2007 at 6:27 am

    I love that Bolero cover, ever since you posted it on my myspace page. She does have a very “fuck you, I’m bulletproof” look on her face, which is pretty much how I feel when I’m drunk too… Not to mention sticking matches instead of cigarettes in my mouth, or lighting cigarettes upside down and all those kind of things. I don’t normally smoke but I do tend to chain smoke when I’m on a bender… Why am I telling you this? …

    Herb Alpert: It was only on the second look that I noticed that she is actually wearing whipped cream and not a dress, duh!

    I think Eddie Mack is turning away to give the audience a “gerra loada what I’ve got here” type of grin….

    What do you say about Millie Jackson? What I would like to know is what is she doing with her shoe in her hand?

    The first thing that springs to mind when I look at the last one, is that the white dummy is saying to the black one, “so it’s true what they say then, y’know about size and all that?” The black one answers, (note the smug expression)”yep, it’s all true.” What I really don’t know, and I’m not sure if I even want to know, is why is there a woman giving head to a guy who has two ventriloquist dummies on his lap in the first place?

    I like the new theme btw too. Nice!

  9. Vanessa said,

    April 14, 2007 at 8:47 am

    You are so not people, Jules. You’re far too much like me. Hah!

    Yay! You get the drunk Bolero photo. You’re telling me that because you know I do exactly the same. C’mon…

    Hahahahah. You got Eddie Mack sorted. Can’t you just hear him? Lecherous old git.

    I dunno, I always take one shoe off when I go to the loo. Doesn’t everyone?

    The last one is just all kinds of wrong. The questions reach far and wide…….. Is there such a thing as a fetish for ventriloquist dummies? I mean, there has to be. I don’t think that’s it, but it’s the best I got….

    Yah, the theme is orright…..fer now. Cheers, love…

  10. rannaland said,

    April 14, 2007 at 9:15 am

    Ahh! I would have to agree on the Bolero. That FUCK YOU look she has is Priceless. I seem to have this same look (followed by the attitude;) ) when I am on a bender. My downfall however, is letting my mouth write checks my ass can’t cash. LOL! Now on the Millie cover, She does have her shoe in her hand but the look on her face and the placement of her other hand makes me wonder if maybe Ms. Jackson is not endulging herself a wee bit? HMMM! Can’t say I’ve ever done that in the LOO! HA HA! I too give Kudos on the new theme. WONDERFUL LOVE!!

  11. Vanessa said,

    April 14, 2007 at 3:18 pm

    Hehe well I’m glad I’m not alone with the Bolero cover. That’s you AND Jules that ‘fess up to getting that ‘fuck you I’m bulletproof’ look after a few too many bevvies. I don’t turn nasty, I just have a no bullshit attitude…. and only occasionally say things I regret. Hah!

    Haha at Millie! That hadn’t occurred to me at all. I just thought she looked like she was REALLY enjoying a long over due poo. Eww to ‘indulgence’ in the loo! I don’t know how men do it. It doesn’t seem to bother them… I mean, WHY would you want to spend any more time in there than you had to?? It’s cold, it’s uncomfortable, it smells. That is all.

    Ah, the new theme seems to be a winner! hehe. Cheers, love…

  12. rannaland said,

    April 14, 2007 at 4:00 pm

    Men are odd creatures darlin! There are many things that they do that I will never figure out. My favorite saying here lately seems to be DAMN BOYS! This would be because they give me much headache. AHH but then again there are so many aspects of men that do intrigue me. OF course they are all of a physical standpoint! 🙂 I am intrigued by their Ab’s, chest, butt, eyes………… I am a naughty girl today I do believe. HA HA!!

  13. Vanessa said,

    April 14, 2007 at 4:11 pm

    Haha, so I see! I think you may need some indulgence of your own there, dearest. Haha! I like legs, myself. Not sure why…. and they don’t have to be very muscular. I just love how they feel hard and hairy. Shit! Now you’ve got me started! hahahaha!

    Damn boys, indeed…. but we love them, no? 😉

  14. charitycase said,

    April 14, 2007 at 5:43 pm

    Great Theme darling gal…. Really love the purple it suite\s your naked gardener/vinyl owning/ex radio reble image!! I am with you on the Bolero too love her…I wonder how many times they had to retake that lighting the match pic…and how many burnt lips were incurred before they got the perfect pic…or do you think she started off as a nice enough girl and the sulphur burns and smell finally took its toll?
    I need a bit of that sorta attitude.

  15. Vanessa said,

    April 15, 2007 at 3:15 am

    Heh, that’s probably why the Bolero lady looks like she has so much attitude. She’s actually just squinting because she’s trying not to to scorch her eyeballs. Yah, she probably did start out quite sweet and pretty….. but I love the smell of sulphur, so I’m not sure about that. Mmmm burning matches….

    Hehe, I wuv porple. S’my favourite colour and stuff. Thanks, lovely one…

  16. April 16, 2007 at 12:55 am

    I remember the record ages! I mean they were short lived for me but I do remember. The o ne and only leftthat I have is Michael Jackson Thriller. HA!

    Bolero: I get that same look. Can’t say I’ve had a match in my face but I have many of times tried to light a darn cig backwards. And why is that, when we get to drinking we all non-smokers want to chain smoke like a mofo! LOVE THIS ONE!

    Eddie Mack: Gives a whole new meaning for “Open Face Sandwich Club”.

    Millie: Her face just shows that Her shit does stink! She can’t even handle it!

    For the last but not least: Which one of the three is getting the BJ? I’m confused. Help me here!

    Can’t wait to see the rest of your collection Vanessa! Love your blogs!

  17. Vanessa said,

    April 16, 2007 at 1:03 am

    Ah, I only ever had Thriller on cassette, hah! Yah, showing my age….

    HAHA, you’re so right about Eddie Mack.

    I feel all warm and fuzzy that so many women relate to Bolero woman…. It’s nice not to be alone in the world, heehee.

    The last one just confuses me on too many levels. I just do not know…………………

    Thanks for reading. I’m glad you had fun! 🙂

  18. May 18, 2007 at 4:27 pm

    […] Vinyl Beauties – Part 1 […]

  19. June 8, 2007 at 7:40 pm

    […] Vinyl Beauties 1 Vinyl Beauties 2 […]

  20. Stiletto said,

    June 11, 2007 at 2:39 am

    The chick on the cover of Bolero has that Bette Davis thing going on.

  21. July 20, 2007 at 9:36 pm

    […] Vinyl Beauties 1 Vinyl Beauties 2 Vinyl Beauties 3 […]

  22. July 22, 2007 at 11:04 am

    […] Vinyl Beauties – Part 1 […]

  23. July 31, 2007 at 6:50 am

    […] Vinyl Beauties 1Vinyl Beauties 2 […]

  24. August 17, 2007 at 8:23 pm

    […] Vinyl Beauties 1 Vinyl Beauties 2 Vinyl Beauties 3 Vinyl Beauties 4 […]

  25. Leslie said,

    October 9, 2007 at 1:21 am

    Thank you so much for posting the Bolero record cover. I remember it fondly from my youth, as with the TJ Brass one. I’m practically in tears!


Leave a Reply

