Yacht Rock #2

I’m a little quiet on the posting front this week, due to being somewhat under the weather.

This, like all things, shall pass.

A bit of a shame, really. I was quite looking forward to attending the ANZAC Day Dawn Service this morning, but somehow I think getting up at 3.30am to stand around in the cold with 30,000 strangers in my current condition would have been counterproductive.

So, without further ado, fellow cheesemeisters, it’s time for Yacht Rock – Episode Two.

In which our friends Michael McDonald and Kenny Loggins are challenged to a songwriting duel by Hall and Oates. Who will take the (non-existant) prize? And why does Christopher Cross have a piece of wire hanging from his face?

There is also a death in the Yacht Rock family. Quite the tragedy.

(Can anyone shed any light on how Oates pulls off such an impressive imitation of a kookaburra? It has to be accidental…)

Yacht Rock – Episode One

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I think it’s time for a Bex and a good lie down.

 

Coming in Episode Three: Will Kenny Loggins leave behind his smooth roots for a world of hard beats and primal screams? Steve Perry wants to make sure of it…

 

Song Of The Day – Joy Division – She’s Lost Control

19 Comments

  1. Jennifer said,

    April 25, 2007 at 7:55 am

    It’s too much fun. I hope you are feeling much better. Take care of yourself and sorry you missed the celebration.

  2. modobs said,

    April 25, 2007 at 9:59 am

    Take care of yourself, Vanessa.

  3. rannaland said,

    April 25, 2007 at 12:20 pm

    Ahh Vanessa, I hate to hear that your not feeling well!

  4. Vanessa said,

    April 25, 2007 at 12:21 pm

    Thanks guys. I’m sure things will improve out of sight once I finally have my ‘special visitor’. Ugh. As it stands, I’m just about ready to scoop my brains out with a spoon to take the edge off the craziness. I have to keep knocking myself out with valium….

    Yay for womanhood!

  5. Jules said,

    April 27, 2007 at 1:50 am

    *sob* We’ll miss you Coco 😦

    Haha, so funny when everyone just stops fighting and turns around when Christopher Cross starts playing. Oates does sound uncannily like a kookaburra, doesn’t he? Oooh, Steve Perry next time. All the old favourites, heh…

    Pity about the demise of Bex. I could use some right about now.

  6. Vanessa said,

    April 27, 2007 at 2:06 am

    Hehe, I think my favourite part, although it’s easy to miss, is when Hall and Oates have just finished their crappy song and Kenny goes “chicka chickaaaa”. Oh, and Coco on Christopher Cross…. “it’s just so…… smooth”

    I swear you can still buy Bex at the supermarket. I think they just took out the ingredient that damages your kidneys, heh. I’ll have a look when I go today.

    I have icecream. Would that help?

  7. Jules said,

    April 27, 2007 at 2:21 am

    “You must take that name… and sing to the world…”

    I can see a pattern developing here, had to watch it again for the third time to see the “chicka chickaaa” part, hehe.

    Oh and I know you and I thought that Hall and Oates song was crappy but look how Chris Cross was digging it!

    Oh you still get Bex? I’ve never noticed it before. Then again I’ve never been looking for it. I’m going to have a look too now.

    Shhh, you’re giving me cravings . I don’t have any icecream here, but I do have choc-chip muffins…

  8. Vanessa said,

    April 27, 2007 at 2:30 am

    Hahahaha. I saw that informercial for ‘The Soft Rock Collection’ set of CD’s yesterday on telly and I was beside myself. Have you seen it? It’s hosted by the guys from Air Supply and has clips of every Yacht Rock band you can think of. Brilliant. Even Christopher Cross, heheh. Oh, and Michael McDonald is in there…

    “Portable radiooooo”. Man, what a shocker. Haha, Hickstopher Cross probably would dig it. It was like nothing he’d ever heard before……..

    I’m definitely going to look for Bex when I do Mum’s shopping in a while. I’ll buy some if I see it. Take a photo and post it just for you. hehe.

    Choc Chip muffins are evil in spongy cake form. Stay away!!

  9. Vanessa said,

    April 27, 2007 at 2:32 am

    Oh, and I’m quite taken with the way Kenny Loggins emotes. He’s got style with those arm movements…

  10. Jules said,

    April 27, 2007 at 2:53 am

    Oooh, I can’t wait to see that infomercial now! It’ll have a whole new significance now, hehe.

    Have you heard on triple J in the mornings how Jay and the Doctor always have little clips of yacht rock type songs? I love it!

  11. Vanessa said,

    April 27, 2007 at 3:03 am

    Aw, really? I don’t listen to the radio until I get in the car and that’s usually just after 9am…

    Part of the reason the whole thing makes me laugh is that it’s pretty much all my dad listened to when I was a kid (apart from Pink Floyd)…. and he was heavily into yachts and boating! haha! I also used to go sailing with my mother and stepfather on a weekly basis and the likes of George Benson and Michael Franks would be pumping out of the galley… I believe a George Benson track made it into episode one….heh

    Oh, another thing…. What is with Peter Cetera?!! What a dweeb, haha!

  12. Jules said,

    April 27, 2007 at 3:18 am

    Yeah, Peter Cetera. He’s always been the epitomy of all I hate about what I now know to be the yacht rock phenomenon, heh. Michael Franks comes in a close second.

    My dad was a huge Pink Floyd fan, and Deep Purple, Led Zep etc. I don’t recall him ever listening to any yacht rock stuff although there was just so much of it around that it was hard not to hear it. I don’t remember my mum listening to any music. Except for Cliff Richard. Hahaha! I’m not quite sure what category he falls under…

  13. Vanessa said,

    April 27, 2007 at 3:27 am

    Hah! I think Cliff has a genre all to himself…. Although you could break him down into decades and slot him in somewhere…

    Your Dad had good taste. My Dad loved Chicago, Supertramp and 10CC. I have to admit I have a soft spot for the latter two, mainly in a wistful, longing for the good ol’ days kinda way…

    Oh, Michael Bloody Franks. “Love is just like baseballll”. Oh, shut up.

  14. Jules said,

    April 27, 2007 at 3:41 am

    I have that same feeling about Supertramp for some reason. Them and 10cc are pretty good. I never liked Chicago. Elton John always gives me happy childhood memories, even though I can’t stand him now and haven’t been able to since the early eighties. He was ok in the seventies though. Oh, and what about Leo Sayer? Hehe.

    “You make me feel like dancin’!” Yeah!

  15. Vanessa said,

    April 27, 2007 at 3:51 am

    Hehe, you gotta love Leo Sayer. Funny how he pops up here on tv a lot now. Apparently he moved to Australia…. Funny little man.

    Chicago leave me cold, too. And Elton after the 70’s. A bit like Billy Joel. He was good in the 70’s too… then came fucking Uptown Girl and his cred flew out the window faster than you can say ‘lame-o doo-wop shite’.

    Ahh… Paul Simon was a favourite of my parent’s generation, too. He had his moments, but again there goes that cred with the opening horn section on “You Can Call Me Al”

    Who else can we pick the shit out of? Muahaha!

  16. Jules said,

    April 27, 2007 at 4:14 am

    Yeah, Billy Joel got lame in the eighties too. I loved Paul Simon when I was little. My dad was a fan of Simon and Garfunkel so I heard a lot of it. “You can call me Al” was sooo overplayed in SA. The whole Graceland album was, because of all the SA musicians on it. It was sickening after a while….

    When it comes to picking the shit out of someone I think Barry Manilow might be right up there at the top of my list… Haha!

  17. Vanessa said,

    April 27, 2007 at 4:24 am

    Yah, Paul Simon was good. Sounds like you had the same overkill as us with that song and album. It’s hard to imagine it could have been worse than it was here, but it probably was with the African connection. Oh, man.

    “Shananaaaa Shanananana diamonds on the soles of her shooooes” Ugh!

    Awwww you leave Bazza alone! [sings] Ohh Mandeh… You came and you… um, I forget the words now…

    Ok, ‘I Write the Songs’ is shite and ‘Copacabana’ is done to death…….. Um, what else is there?

  18. Jules said,

    April 27, 2007 at 4:34 am

    “You know I can’t smile without you… can’t smile without you.” Heh.

    The Carpenters have just popped up into my head, along with the frigging Osmonds.

    Yeah, Diamonds on the soles of her shoes was absolutely killed in SA. For most of those artists singing with him that was the biggest thing that ever happened to them and they faded into obscurity again, except Ladysmith Black Mambazo. They’re still big in SA. Very popular.

    Oh, on the subject of Paul Simon, can you listen to the 59th Street Bridge Song now without thinking of that naked bloke on a scooter in the Deep Spring advert? Hehe.

  19. Vanessa said,

    April 27, 2007 at 6:09 pm

    Shit, I forgot about that one…. Aww, it’s good for a bit of occasional cheese… c’mon….

    NOW! Don’t diss the Carpenters… Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Craft is one of the best songs ever. I’ll stand by that… Even some of their others are melodically sweet….

    Ladysmith Black Mambazo (what a pain in the arse that is to type and say) have a profile here… they tour, mostly on the back of their Paul Simon fame…

    I do not know a naked man on a scooter! Why do I not know a naked man on a scooter?!

    I heart me some Simon and Garfunkel though….

    Oh, I remembered that my Dad was also a big Eagles fan, too. I heard Hotel California in it’s entirety on 8-track and vinyl more times than I’ve been drunk.

    That’s a lot. 😉


Leave a Reply

