Let’s Disco…. Baby

So, Jules and I were having a conversation on one of my blogs, about cheesy videos on YouTube.

She told me, she’d just been watching a video on ‘How to do ‘The Hustle”.  

Y’know…. the disco dance craze from the ’70’s.

I was then reminded of one of my favourite videos in the vast YouTube cannon. 

Oh, it just thrills me…

I’m not quite sure what that says about me, except that I have an extreme fetish for CHEEEZE.

I’m a bit of a disco queen, myself.  Ever since I picked up a second hand vinyl copy of ‘Let’s Disco!’ and the accompanying instructional book around 15 years ago. 

“Step round, back, and together with the right…”  

I should offer lessons.  Any takers?

Although, I may not be as good as the man with the smooth moves in this video… 

I also don’t recall ever learning that step he does in the last 30 seconds.  I wonder if it has a name?  You have to admit, it’s fairly impressive…. [snicker]

Now, make sure you have your dancing shoes ready.  Those Finnish peeps really know how to get their groove on….

**WARNING:  Do not eat or consume fizzy beverages for the duration of this video.

I’m in love with all the ladies’ shoes…

I’m also intrigued as to how the woman goes through all the instructional part at the beginning, only to jig about doing her own thing when the party really gets going.  What’s all that about?

Those crazy Scandinavians…

 

Coming soon:  EUROVISION!!!  YAY!!!!

 

Song Of The Day – Van McCoy – The Hustle

51 Comments

  1. modobs said,

    May 2, 2007 at 8:16 am

    Haha, this video is excellent ! For sure, Finns are a weird population. Don’t forget they win the last Eurovision song contest with this magnificent band called Lordi and that song which still haunts me in the night “hard rock halleluïa”. Maybe there’s something to do with the lack of luminosity in most parts of the country. I went there in november last year, and in the place I stayed, the sun only came up at 10 in the morning until 3 in the afternoon.
    Geez, this finnish band made me laugh so much last year that I can’t wait to see the next Eurovision song contest.

  2. Vanessa said,

    May 2, 2007 at 8:23 am

    Oh, Lordi were fantastic! Hard! Rock! Hallelujah! Haha! I adore Eurovision, because it’s so hilarious. Europeans do seem to take it very seriously, but there are always one or two acts in the final that almost make me fall off my chair. The BBC Terry Wogan commentary we get on our coverage is very sly, too. Even better when he’s had a few drinks, hehe.

    I’ve made it a kind of tradition the last couple of years to do a Eurovision blog…. This year will be no different. God, I can’t wait..

    That amount of daylight can’t be good for anyone…. surely. I am quite fascinated by Scandinavians in general. They have a very um…unique way about them….

  3. Jules said,

    May 2, 2007 at 8:24 am

    Woohoo! The Hustle is song of the day! I love that song! I have to say I’m a bit of a closet disco lover. Now that I know how to dance it will be even more fun. If I need any extra lessons I’ll be sure to let you know 😉

    Haha, love the video! That spazzy walk thing the bloke in white starts doing towards the end (32 seconds before it ends to be precise) is just priceless! Look how his left hand goes all limp during it too. Hahaha! I wonder what the name of it is indeed.

    Thanks for that. CHEEZE RULES!!!

  4. Vanessa said,

    May 2, 2007 at 8:31 am

    If only my turntables were working, I’d be pulling out The Hustle and getting down with my bad self right now. I really want to get a turntable with a USB port, so I can transfer stuff like my instructional disco record onto cd and mp3. It must be shared!

    That spazzy walk is the highlight of the video! What the hell is he doing??!

  5. sabro said,

    May 2, 2007 at 10:20 am

    nice blog

  6. Vanessa said,

    May 2, 2007 at 10:22 am

    Thank you 🙂

  7. artvandalay said,

    May 2, 2007 at 12:58 pm

    There were a lot of disco instructional videos. They are all hilarious. I guess more hilarious was buying one and trying to learn. Imagine all the people dancing infront of the TV. Now that’s CHEEEZ…….haha

  8. Vanessa said,

    May 2, 2007 at 1:05 pm

    Right! Haha. That one gets me because of the age of the participants and the fact that it’s entirely in Finnish. It gives it a certain, extra….something…. 😀

  9. artvandalay said,

    May 2, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    So true. You just can’t make up stuff like this.

    Glad to hear you’re getting some rain down there.

  10. modobs said,

    May 2, 2007 at 2:31 pm

    Vanessa, I’ll wait for your Eurovision blog this time. I don’t watch the Terry Wogan version on the Beeb because the French presentators for this event are so hilarious. In fact, they make fun of each contestant. One year, they received tons of complaints from the viewer of the channel because they mocked the Spanish singer who was dressed as if he would go to his first communion afterwards. The poor young singer forgot the lyrics and one of the backup dancer had come to his rescue. Priceless.

  11. Vanessa said,

    May 2, 2007 at 2:46 pm

    Art: Cheers, love. It’s been a nice, wet week….. and not before time. Now we just need it to reach the farmers…

    modobs: Ah, that’s wonderful that the French presenters make fun of the contestants. How could you not?! heehee. That’s what I love about Wogan. Honestly, some people have no sense of humour…

  12. Jennifer said,

    May 3, 2007 at 11:15 am

    Seriously good fun. The hustle , that’s all you have to say really and I am laghing and praying i won’t be singing that all day.

  13. Vanessa said,

    May 3, 2007 at 11:20 am

    Such is the power of The Hustle…..

    Did you watch the video?

    My F*%$#*g cat just put a hole in my finger 😐

  14. Jennifer said,

    May 3, 2007 at 11:28 am

    It is funny becasue I can’t listen to the music…..

    How do I delete a post? I wrote…….I cursed my sister to heart attck hell and I want to take it off my blog?

  15. Jennifer said,

    May 3, 2007 at 11:29 am

    try watching it with out the sound. … it is really good.

  16. Vanessa said,

    May 3, 2007 at 11:33 am

    Heh, I like it better with the sound. The Finnish language just makes it appear more like they’re about to rip off their clothes and have an orgy as soon as “Moscow” is over….

    I take it you can’t use sound?

  17. Vanessa said,

    May 3, 2007 at 11:35 am

    Uh, der. I just missed the comment above.

    Ahhh! Haha! Go to Manage up top and your posts should come up with a delete option….

  18. Jennifer said,

    May 3, 2007 at 11:39 am

    I will come back for sound later tonight….Zach is sleeping and tha tis sacred. OK I go to Manage…..thank you!

  19. Vanessa said,

    May 3, 2007 at 11:41 am

    Glad to be of service, dearest.

    That was a doozy post! hehe

  20. Jennifer said,

    May 3, 2007 at 11:48 am

    Oh crap you read that? Well, that’s 30 years of pissed off ….. she is spoiled….. I am just feeling like I was punched in the stomach with worry about zach and I have to be mad at her so I am not mad at god….. I might need god later today. rather….. zach might…..

  21. Vanessa said,

    May 3, 2007 at 11:56 am

    Oh, don’t worry about it. I’ve written and thought most of those things at some point. I think everyone has.

    Are you worried because of the cast he’s getting?

  22. Jennifer said,

    May 3, 2007 at 12:22 pm

    they docs called me withother crap and so I am staying up to take him in when the lab opens so the tests are ready when teh doc gets there. It’s bone de mineralization with fragility fractures. It’s not good news for us. If they find a cause it’s a bad one so I am hoping for a mystery cause. : ) We are famous for those…

  23. Jennifer said,

    May 3, 2007 at 12:23 pm

    thank you for asking.

  24. Jennifer said,

    May 3, 2007 at 12:27 pm

    Also, you can delete my comments if you want to clean up your blog an keep everything disco! I won’t mind…

  25. Vanessa said,

    May 3, 2007 at 12:28 pm

    Sending good vibes and thoughts and all the good stuff your way. I’ll cross everything, even my eyes and hairs…..

  26. Vanessa said,

    May 3, 2007 at 12:30 pm

    Oh, don’t be ridiculous. I and other people can talk about whatever the hell we like here. I couldn’t give a toss about staying ‘on topic’. Don’t fence me in, man! 😀

  27. Jennifer said,

    May 3, 2007 at 12:31 pm

    Yeah, you are out of the box…that is for sure!

  28. Vanessa said,

    May 3, 2007 at 12:34 pm

    Speak fer yerself, lady. 😛

  29. Jules said,

    May 4, 2007 at 3:52 am

    Just popped in again to get another quick fix of the vid. I’ve mastered the art of clicking my mouse straight at the 35 second mark, right at the beginning of the funny part.

    Moscowww!

  30. Vanessa said,

    May 4, 2007 at 5:25 am

    Ha, fantastic. I also like the first few seconds, where they’re demonstrating the first step. I swear you’d think they were tutoring for some good old fashioned rumpy pumpy…..

    Hmm…. might be about time for another episode of….. YACHT ROCK!

  31. Jules said,

    May 4, 2007 at 6:20 am

    Orghh YEAH! Woohoo! I was wondering when it was coming. I await in tingling anticipation. 😀

  32. Jules said,

    May 4, 2007 at 7:43 am

    Ohhh, I just had a cheeze supreme flashback. From the eighties though. Modern Talking! Hahaha!

    *makes a beeline for YouTube…..*

  33. Vanessa said,

    May 4, 2007 at 7:51 am

    Hahaha! I have to say that I’ve only heard the name, but I just checked out the video for “You’re My Heart, You’re My Soul” and blow me down if they aren’t the inspiration for Hugh Grant’s has been band in Music and Lyrics. Haha! Classic….

    Episode 3 is up. Teehee!

  34. Jules said,

    May 4, 2007 at 8:00 am

    Ahh, I haven’t seen that movie yet. I’ll have to check it out now.

    For some reason Modern Talking were HUGE in SA. Ugh…

    Woohoo, off to watch episode 3. Yay!

  35. Vanessa said,

    May 4, 2007 at 8:11 am

    Are they from SA? The name is only vaguely familiar….

  36. Jules said,

    May 4, 2007 at 8:22 am

    Theyre from somewhere in Europe. Germany if I’m not mistaken. Those kind of bands were really popular there when we arrived in the eighties. Actually I think they still are.

  37. Vanessa said,

    May 4, 2007 at 8:39 am

    Ah, that would explain it.

    I don’t know which of the two guys I like more. The cheesy little grin of the blonde one, or the sultry broodiness of the dark haired bloke. It’s a high quality video….

  38. Jules said,

    May 4, 2007 at 10:24 am

    Oh I know, they are quite a pair. I remember all the girls being in love with the dark haired one. I just didn’t get it. It was like one of those Ponch from Chips type of things. He just didn’t do it for me. I always thought he looked like a Thunderbird. My line of thinking hasn’t changed much since then.

  39. Vanessa said,

    May 4, 2007 at 11:12 am

    …and the other one has a disturibing Ken doll quality. I was watching Duran Duran clips on YouTube last night and Simon le Bon is still a really good looking guy…. unlike many of the pop stars of old that you thought were cute and now wonder what the hell you were thinking… such as mr dark hair, there. I don’t think I’d have liked him either…

  40. Jules said,

    May 4, 2007 at 11:22 am

    Haha, yes! Ken doll indeed. I haven’t seen Simon Le Bon lately, but he was always good looking. I’ll have to go and have a look at him . Any excuse to go over there…

  41. Vanessa said,

    May 4, 2007 at 11:27 am

    Hehe, well he still looks good, but I meant that when he was a young heartthrob, he was really good looking…. and those looks still hold up now, looking back. Unlike some others who you look back at now and say “ewwww!”. Know wha’ I mean?

  42. Jules said,

    May 4, 2007 at 11:33 am

    Oh I know exactly what you mean. At one stage I thought Pete Burns was kinda hot. OMG have you seen what he looks like now? HAHAHA!

  43. Vanessa said,

    May 4, 2007 at 11:40 am

    Hahaha yeah, and I look back at his type and thinkk…. WHAT THE HELL WAS I THINKING?? Even Boy fucking George….

  44. Jules said,

    May 4, 2007 at 11:46 am

    I LOVED Boy George when he first came out. Do you really want to hurt me came out a few weeks before we left the UK for SA. I bought the album and it always brings back memories of that time. I would sit and listen to it in the early days in SA and cry my eyes out. Looking at him now I wonder what the fascination was, although that album will always be kind of special to me. I used to think Spandau Ballet were cute too. Now they just look so plain and ordinary.

  45. Vanessa said,

    May 4, 2007 at 11:51 am

    Same here for both of them. Do you really want to hurt me was really something when it came out. I loved it. It reminds me of being in Sydney with my Dad…. It was heavily on the radio when I was there. I loved that album too. I never fancied much of Spandau Ballet, but I loved their music and I thought Tony Hadley was a bit of alright… Nothing came close to my Simey, though… heheeehe

  46. Vanessa said,

    May 4, 2007 at 12:06 pm

    Orrrhhhhh… Frankie Goes To Hollywood – Two Tribes just came on iTunes. Love that song. Can’t say I ever fancied them though… haha

  47. Jules said,

    May 4, 2007 at 12:11 pm

    Hehe, I know nothing came close to Simey for you. I only got that much later, with Dave Grohl. Not that he’s particularly great looking or anything. There’s just something about him, a certain je ne sais quoi that does it for me. I need another dream. It’s been a while…

  48. Vanessa said,

    May 4, 2007 at 12:14 pm

    Mmmmm dreams. Yay for them. I can’t say that Dave does it for me, but I can see the attraction…..

    Got Stray Cats now…

  49. Vanessa said,

    May 4, 2007 at 12:16 pm

    Oh, you know who is a honey? If you get a chance, check out the video on my youtube for T Rex – Metal Guru. Marc Bolan had it goin’ orrrn….

  50. Jules said,

    May 4, 2007 at 12:17 pm

    I’d say that he only started doing it for me after the dreams started. It’s like we have a connection. Well I doubt he thinks so but it works for me.

    I haven’t heard Stray Cats for ages! Not sure if I have any on here…I have Donovan. “Hurdy gurdy, hurdy gurdy, hurdy gurdy, gurdy he sang.”

  51. Vanessa said,

    May 4, 2007 at 12:21 pm

    Ahhh, it’s funny how that can happen when you dream about someone. That’s happened to me a few times….

    I just had Hurdy Gurdy man on! Oooeeeooo…… Now it’s Tears For Fears – Pale Shelter…


Leave a Reply

