Tiptoe Thru The Tulips (with me)

Alright, alright. I admit it. There’s not a lot of tiptoeing going on here, nor much in the way of tulips, for that matter….

… but I did spend a lovely couple of hours in the garden yesterday, planting some bulbs which had been sitting in the fridge for longer than the required 6 weeks. I’ve also just found out that they aren’t supposed to be stored in the crisper along with fruit and vegetables, as the fruit and veg gives of ethelyne gas which wrecks the bulbs.

Oops.

In case you can’t tell. I’m a novice gardener. The last time I planted a bulb was as part of a school project when I was 7 years old. Actually, that was the only time I’ve ever planted a flower…

Fingers crossed for these little beauties:

I mixed the pink and red tulips together and planted the rest in separate pots. Aren’t they the prettiest things?

Of course, now I know that you’re not supposed to store them with vegetables, you may see another photoblog with the bulbs looking exactly the same at the end of winter. [worried look] Fingers crossed…

See, I went to all this trouble…..

I got very, very dirty.

Nothing beats sinking your hands into soil..

Oh, well. If worse comes to worst, I still have my other lovelies. Yay for potted vegies! I’m in love with my tomatoes, chillies, onions, baby carrots, spring onions…..

[Spot the dead alien in my pool]

Speaking of tomoatoes…..

Yes, I know it’s just a tomato plant, but it’s MY tomato plant and it’s the first one I’ve ever grown. Well, make that the first six. They’re cherry tomatoes and there are six plants in that pot… and more tomatoes than I can count from here. So sweet and delicious….

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to make myself a salad for dinner…. πŸ™‚

Song Of The Day – Patti Smith – Dancing Barefoot

9 Comments

  1. BriGuy said,

    May 18, 2007 at 2:33 pm

    You are far more courageous than I. The only plants I’ve ever grown were *slightly* illegal, lol

  2. Vanessa said,

    May 18, 2007 at 2:42 pm

    Ohh, man! You know it’s not illegal to have a couple of plants here now… If only I could get hold of some seeds… ;))

  3. May 18, 2007 at 4:27 pm

    […] Tiptoe Thru The Tulips (with me) […]

  4. modobs said,

    May 19, 2007 at 7:39 am

    A novice gardener ? you can’t be as worse as my mom, who has dead (not green) finger when it comes to plants. You can be sure that every plant she will take care of will die within the next three months (and I’m optimistic).

  5. Vanessa said,

    May 19, 2007 at 4:19 pm

    I used to be the same as your mother, but something changed at the beginning of this year. I felt a sudden urge to grow things and keep them alive. I wanted to eat food I’d grown myself. I love it now…. I’ve still managed to kill a few plants along the way, but I’m learning….

  6. Jennifer said,

    May 20, 2007 at 5:48 am

    Nice tomatoes………where is the topless bather?
    I am shameless….. : )
    A squirrel got into my shadow box and that was it for my flowers.

  7. Vanessa said,

    May 20, 2007 at 5:51 am

    Well, I couldn’t be swimming, gardnening AND taking photos at the same time… πŸ˜‰

    Bad, bad squirrel.

  8. Jules said,

    May 23, 2007 at 11:51 am

    Good luck with the bulbs. I’m sure they’ll come up lovely. Look at all your pots around the pool! To think you only started a couple of months ago. Yay!

    Those tomatoes look great! Mine have started making little flowers now. Not long now, weeee! πŸ˜€

    I know it’s good for plants and all but a bag of blood and bone just sounds gruesome….

  9. Vanessa said,

    May 23, 2007 at 3:13 pm

    The tomatoes are lovely. I’ve picked about 30 of them so far… So juicy… Yay for little yellow flowers!

    I’m nervous about the bulbs. I don’t know how long it’s supposed to be until the shoots break the surface, but I’m of half a mind that they won’t, because I kept them in the crisper with rotting vegetables….[sigh] If only I’d bothered to do my homework…..

    The blood and bone smells pretty off, too…….


Leave a Reply

